Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Uninvited Sophie JordanUninvited

Author: Sophie Jordan
Publisher:
HarperTeen
Release Date: January 28, 2014
Pages: 384
Source: Edelweiss/HarperCollins
Rating: 4.5 out of 5

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann. – GoodRead

Wow, I totally did not expect to like Uninvited as much as I did! The concept of the killer DNA gene was intriguing to me, but I wasn’t dying to pick this one up. But once I started reading, I couldn’t stop! Uninvited has it all, from the fast-paced plot, addicting writing style, and swoon-worthy romance.

The most prominent aspect of this novel has to be, of course, the idea that people in the future are carriers of the killer gene in their DNA, and are “marked” as dangerous. Sophie Jordan executes this idea spectacularly and I was fully convinced of the fear and anxiety that the society feels for these carriers. Before each chapter, there are little segments of information providing the government’s ideas about the future of the carriers, presenting to readers what is to come in the chapter. This snippets were informational but no overwhelming in any way, which I appreciated.

Character and romance-wise, I thought Jordan did an outstanding job with the characters’ voices and the creation of these real, humane characters that I couldn’t help but FEEL for. Davy, the main character, starts out as this perfect girl who everyone at school yearns to be. Readers might come across this as annoying and superficial, but I think Jordan made a choice in doing so to contrast her life from before, to what it is after. In my eyes, Davy is a strong girl, and doesn’t deserve to be this monster, a carrier. Yet, she pushes through and aspires to maintain her humanity and conceal it from the government at the same time. Later on in the story, readers meet the potential love interest, and MAN. Jordan does what an author rarely ever does: she creates a sexual-tension romance that occurs during the entire story, and doesn’t let the romantic couple kiss until the last 10%. Yes, you heard me right. To me, this really shows that the romance is genuine and real, developing over time. I swooned hard for this guy: strong, tough, mysterious, and yes, a bad-boy. It all sounds cliché now, but I honestly can’t tell you what else made me swoon for him. He’s just that remarkable.

Finally, the plot-pacing is exciting throughout the entire story. Uninvited is undeniably a page-flipper. Jordan’s mix of world-building and characters all add up to well-constructed plot, inducing the readers to find out more. I have to admit that the second half of the story is similar to a typical dystopian story, but nevertheless, it’s still riveting. The ending is satisfying, but leaves the reader wanting more.

In short, Uninvited is a heart-racing dystopian/thriller/sci-fi that I thoroughly devoured. The perfect blend of a fascinating concept, endearing characters, a hot romance, and a gripping plot, Uninvited is not a story you’ll want to miss. I’ll certainly be counting down the days to the sequel!

rating-system-4-5-out-of-5

Review: More Than This by Patrick Ness

More Than This Patrick NessMore Than This

Author: Patrick Ness
Publisher:
Candlewick Press
Release Date: September 10, 2013
Pages: 472 pages
Source: Netgalley/Candlewick
Rating: 5 out of 5

A boy drowns, desperate and alone in his final moments. He dies.

Then he wakes, naked and bruised and thirsty, but alive.

How can this be? And what is this strange deserted place?

As he struggles to understand what is happening, the boy dares to hope. Might this not be the end? Might there be more to this life, or perhaps this afterlife?

From multi-award-winning Patrick Ness comes one of the most provocative and moving novels of our time. – GoodReads

I went into More Than This with sky-rocketing expectations. If you all know me, you know that I love Patrick Ness’s stories. More than love– as in he’s pretty much my favorite author ever. I was honest to goodness scared to death (with a hollow pit in my stomach) to pick this story up; I was that nervous. Would it disappoint me?

And the answer turned out to be a big fat no. Because a few pages in and I knew there was no way this book was going to be a letdown. In fact, after reading the last beautiful word in More Than This, I practically bawled my eyes out. Ladies and gentlemen, this is one heck of a gorgeous story. In attempt to express my (in)coherent thoughts, I’m going to list a few points:

First off, don’t read the synopsis, or try avoid all synopsis descriptions in reviews as much as possible. I went into this story not knowing much at all, and that was pretty much the best part. I didn’t have a clue what genre this book was, and trust me, that makes the experience 110% better. There’s this clawing curiosity throughout the whole book, and I found myself asking tons of question, but I was also happy that things were so mysterious.

Also, the characters in this story are just as real, raw, and relatable as they can possibly be. I fell in love with the male protagonist Seth immediately. He is confused and lost at the start, but by the end he is a strong boy who knows the world. And more importantly, how to live it.

Lastly, the overall message that is revealed in the end is absolutely uplifting and in some ways, surprising. I don’t want to say what it is (obviously), but I can say that it leaves the book on a very good note.

This review is so short, but I really am speechless by Patrick Ness’s latest work for YA readers. It’s deep, profound, and touching on a whole new level. More Than This is, without a doubt, is one of my favorite books of 2013. *clutches heart* This is a must-read!

rating-system-5-out-of-5