Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Uninvited Sophie JordanUninvited

Author: Sophie Jordan
Publisher:
HarperTeen
Release Date: January 28, 2014
Pages: 384
Source: Edelweiss/HarperCollins
Rating: 4.5 out of 5

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann. – GoodRead

Wow, I totally did not expect to like Uninvited as much as I did! The concept of the killer DNA gene was intriguing to me, but I wasn’t dying to pick this one up. But once I started reading, I couldn’t stop! Uninvited has it all, from the fast-paced plot, addicting writing style, and swoon-worthy romance.

The most prominent aspect of this novel has to be, of course, the idea that people in the future are carriers of the killer gene in their DNA, and are “marked” as dangerous. Sophie Jordan executes this idea spectacularly and I was fully convinced of the fear and anxiety that the society feels for these carriers. Before each chapter, there are little segments of information providing the government’s ideas about the future of the carriers, presenting to readers what is to come in the chapter. This snippets were informational but no overwhelming in any way, which I appreciated.

Character and romance-wise, I thought Jordan did an outstanding job with the characters’ voices and the creation of these real, humane characters that I couldn’t help but FEEL for. Davy, the main character, starts out as this perfect girl who everyone at school yearns to be. Readers might come across this as annoying and superficial, but I think Jordan made a choice in doing so to contrast her life from before, to what it is after. In my eyes, Davy is a strong girl, and doesn’t deserve to be this monster, a carrier. Yet, she pushes through and aspires to maintain her humanity and conceal it from the government at the same time. Later on in the story, readers meet the potential love interest, and MAN. Jordan does what an author rarely ever does: she creates a sexual-tension romance that occurs during the entire story, and doesn’t let the romantic couple kiss until the last 10%. Yes, you heard me right. To me, this really shows that the romance is genuine and real, developing over time. I swooned hard for this guy: strong, tough, mysterious, and yes, a bad-boy. It all sounds clich√© now, but I honestly can’t tell you what else made me swoon for him. He’s just that remarkable.

Finally, the plot-pacing is exciting throughout the entire story. Uninvited is undeniably a page-flipper. Jordan’s mix of world-building and characters all add up to well-constructed plot, inducing the readers to find out more. I have to admit that the second half of the story is similar to a typical dystopian story, but nevertheless, it’s still riveting. The ending is satisfying, but leaves the reader wanting more.

In short, Uninvited is a heart-racing dystopian/thriller/sci-fi that I thoroughly devoured. The perfect blend of a fascinating concept, endearing characters, a hot romance, and a gripping plot, Uninvited is not a story you’ll want to miss. I’ll certainly be counting down the days to the sequel!

rating-system-4-5-out-of-5

Advertisements